Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Official Home of the university of LA VERNE LEOPARDS

About The Program

A new era Leopard water polo began under Pat Beemer when he joined the University of La Verne in the summer fo 2017. Since then, several Leopards have earned ACWPC All-America recognition in women's players Jassmine Kezman (2018 first-team, 2019 second team, 2020 first team), Jasmine Bustamante (2018 honorable mention), Guarina Garcia (2019 first team), Shelby Garcia (2018 honorable mention, 2020 first team ), and Nancy Trinh (2020 honorable mention) and men's player Rey Julian Castillo (2017 second team), Charles Ortega (2018 second team, 2019 honorable mention)

The University of La Verne began competition in the fall of 1998 and earned the program's first Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Championship two years later in 2000.  Several La Verne players have earned national recognition including a pair of Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III National Player of the Year winners in Kenny Clements (2000) and Robert Casillas (2002).

Besides the SCIAC, the men's water polo teams compete against several of the nation's top programs including nationally-ranked Division I squads.