Peres, Santa Cruz, Norman named ABCA/Rawlings All-Region

Peres, Santa Cruz, Norman named ABCA/Rawlings All-Region

GREENSBORO, NC — Christopher Peres, Adam Santa Cruz, and Cody Norman have been tabbed ABCA/Rawlings All-West Region the American Baseball Coaches Association announced Tuesday.

Peres picked up first team recognition, Santa Cruz earned second team accolades, and Norman collected third team honors.

Complete All-Region Lists

Peres earns ABCA/Rawlings All-Region honors for the third year in a row and picks up his fifth overall All-Region accolade. The senior was named to the team as a utility player after posting a triple slash line of .355/.421/.529. He also finished the season with 40 hits, 41 RBI, 35 runs, 13 doubles, two triples, three home runs, and 16 walks. As a pitcher, he finished the year with a 1.93 ERA, eight saves, four wins, and no losses. Peres was named the 2019 SCIAC Athlete of the Year and Scafani Athlete of the Year.

Santa Cruz picks up third overall All-Region honor and second by the ABCA/Rawlings. At the plate, Santa Cruz ended the year with 44 RBI, 54 hits, 32 runs, 10 doubles, three home runs, two triples, and 16 walks with a .338 batting average and .413 on-base percentage. The catcher struck out just nine times in 160 at bats and defensively caught 10 runners stealing. 

Norman makes his first appearance on the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region team. The ace from Vacaville led the Leopards with nine wins and 58 strikeouts, including 13 Ks in a complete game win over Occidental in the SCIAC Tournament opener. The junior ended the year with a 2.57 ERA.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

About the ABCA

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings' unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. 

Watch Live
Follow ULV Athletics on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Watch on Youtube
Follow us on Instagram